Monday, March 16, 1998

Simple Minds’ Neapolis released

First posted 10/10/2020.


Simple Minds

Released: March 16, 1998

Peak: -- US, 19 UK, -- CN, -- AU

Sales (in millions): -- US, -- UK, -- world (includes US and UK)

Genre: alternative rock


Song Title (date of single release, chart peaks) Click for codes to singles charts.

  1. Song for the Tribes
  2. Glitterball (3/14/98, 18 UK)
  3. War Babies (5/30/98, 43 UK)
  4. Tears of a Guy
  5. Superman v. Supersoul
  6. Lightning
  7. If I Had Wings
  8. Killing Andy Warhol
  9. Androgyny

Total Running Time: 45:00

The Players:

  • Jim Kerr (vocals)
  • Charlie Burchill (guitars, keyboards)
  • Derek Forbes (bass)
  • Mel Gaynor (drums)


3.195 out of 5.00 (average of 6 ratings)


About the Album:

After Virgin Records released them from their contract, Simple Minds decided to reinvent themselves yet again. Since 1991, original members Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill had essentially recorded as a duio with session musicians. Prior to this album, they reunited with original members Derek Forbes and Brian McGee. McGee’s involvement didn’t go past the rehearsal stage, but Forbes was reinstated as an official member. They also brought back Mel Gaynor, who’d first started working with the band in 1982.

The move meant a return to the more new wave sound of their early ‘80s work instead of the more arena-rock sound they’d crafted since then. One would have thought such a reunion would have revived the band’s fortunes and garnered more attention. However, the album failed to chart in the U.S. when the band’s new label, Chrysalis, opted not to release the album there. WK In the UK it peaked at #19, a long way from the band’s previous six albums which had all peaked in the top 3.

Two singles were released from the album. Glitterball reached the top 20 in the UK while War Babies fell just short of the top 40. The band toured to support the album, but health problems and contractual fiascos dogged the tour. WK After the tour, the band parted with Chrysalis Records and dropped Gaynor and Forbes from the band yet again.

Notes: The Japanese edition also included remixes of “Don’t You Forget About Me” and “Waterfront” as bonus tracks.

Resources and Related Links: