Monday, April 23, 2007

Arctic Monkeys released sophomore album, Favourite Worst Nightmare

First posted 6/8/2011; updated 9/12/2020.

Favourite Worst Nightmare

Arctic Monkeys

Released: April 23, 2007

Peak: 7 US, 13 UK, 4 CN, 2 AU

Sales (in millions): 0.36 US, 1.0 UK, 1.61 world (includes US and UK)

Genre: garage rock revival

Tracks: (Click for codes to singles charts.)

  1. Brianstorm (4/16/07, 2 UK)
  2. Teddy Picker (12/07, 20 UK)
  3. D Is for Dangerous
  4. Balaclava
  5. Fluorescent Adolescent (7/07, 5 UK)
  6. Only One Who Knows
  7. Do Me a Favour
  8. This House Is a Circus
  9. If You Were There, Beware
  10. The Bad Thing
  11. Old Yellow Bricks
  12. 505

Total Running Time: 37:18

The Players:

  • Alex Turner (vocals, guitar)
  • Jamie Cook (guitar, vocals)
  • Nick O’Malley (bass, vocals)
  • Matt Helders (drums, vocals)


4.022 out of 5.00 (average of 24 ratings)


About the Album:

“Breathless praise is a time-honored tradition in British pop music, but even so, the whole brouhaha surrounding the 2006 debut of the Arctic Monkeys bordered on the absurd. It wasn’t enough for the Arctic Monkeys to be the best new band of 2006; they had to be the saviors of rock & roll. Lead singer/songwriter Alex Turner had to be the best songwriter since Noel Gallagher or perhaps even Paul Weller, and their debut, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not, at first was hailed as one of the most important albums of the decade, and then, just months after its release, NME called it one of the Top Five British albums ever.” AMG

Instead of basking in the abundance of praise, the Monkeys went right back to work. Favourite Worst Nightmare came out just a little over a year after their debut and the result is “the vibrant, thrilling sound of a band coming into its own.” AMG The album “hardly abandons the pleasures of their debut but instead frantically expands upon them.” AMG “This isn’t a quartet that bashes out simply three-chord rock & roll.” AMG “They’ll play art punk riffs without pretension.” AMG

“Born in the ‘80s and raised on the Strokes and the Libertines, they treat all rock as a level playing field, loving its traditions but not seeing musical barriers between generations.” AMG They absorb their influences and “spit it all out in a giddy, cacophonous blend of post-punk and classic rock that sounds fresh.” AMG They “haven’t stumbled on their second album” like those bands did by overthinking it. AMG

In fact, Nightmare has been described as a “faster, meaner” WK “more ambitious, heavier” WK album. They “sound like they’ll try anything, which makes this a rougher album in some ways than their debut, which indeed was more cohesive. All the songs on Whatever shared a similar viewpoint, whereas the excitement here is that there’s a multitude of viewpoints.” AMG “It reveals the depth and ambition of the band.” AMG

“The Monkeys may start with an infectious riff, but then they’ll violently burst into jagged yet tightly controlled blasts of post-punk squalls or they’ll dress a verse with circular harmonies as they do at the end of Fluorescent Adolescent.” AMG “Their signature is precision, evident in their concise songs, deftly executed instrumental interplay.” AMG

There’s also “Turner’s wry wordplay, which is clever but never condescending.” AMG Even the title of the album’s lead single is a play on words. Often mistakenly assumed to be titled “Brainstorm,” the song is actually called Brianstorm, a reference to the song’s protagonist named Brian. The song hit #2 on the UK charts, paving the way for the album to have another big debut like its predecessor. It debuted at #1 on the UK album chart, eventually selling a million copies.

Resources and Related Links:

Saturday, April 21, 2007

One Republic released Timbaland version of “Apologize”

Last updated 4/22/2020.


One Republic with Timbaland

Writer(s): Ryan Tedder (see lyrics here)

Released: April 30, 2006

First Charted: April 21, 2007

Peak: 2 US, 17 RR, 4 AC, 16 A40, 60 RB, 3 UK, 113 CN, 18 AU (Click for codes to singles charts.)

Sales (in millions): 6.0 US, 0.6 UK, 10.0 world (includes US + UK)

Airplay/Streaming (in millions): -- radio, 224.43 video, -- streaming


About the Song:

Ryan Tedder, a songwriter and record producer, formed One Republic in Colorado with high school friend Zach Filkins. Once the pair moved to Los Angeles, they fleshed out the band and garnered attention via the online community, especially MySpace. SF The song was initially written for the band’s debut album, Dreaming Out Loud, but didn’t take off until it was remixed by hip-hop producer Timbaland for his Shock Value album SF and released again in April 2007 – a year after its initial release.

Tedder told that the Timbaland connection was not as unusual as it might seem. They’d known each other about six years and after One Republic exploded on MySpace, labels started calling, but Timbaland offered the most interesting deal. SF While Timbaland made changes to the instrumental track, the vocals were still Ryan Tedder. However, because Timbaland had just made a name for himself the track was billed as “Timbaland featuring One Republic.”

The Timbaland version went all the way to #2 in the U.S. in late 2007. It spent 4 non-consecutive weeks there, as well as another 11 weeks at #3. It totalled 25 weeks in the top 10, the most weeks since Santana’s “Smooth” logged 30 weeks there. BB100 It also set the record in North America as the most played song in one week at Mainstream Top 40, a record broken by Leona Lewis’s “Bleeding Love,” a song also written by Tedder. WK

The song topped the charts in 16 countries, WK most notably spending 14 weeks atop the Eurochart Hot 100 Singles, where it was dethroned by – none other than – “Bleeding Love.” SF One Republic would have more hits and Tedder was established as a go-to songwriter, working with Adele, Christina Aguilera, Backstreet Boys, BeyoncĂ©, Camila Cabello, Kelly Clarkson, Chris Cornell, Hilary Duff, The Fray, Ellie Goulding, Ariana Grande, Jennifer Lopez, Demi Lovato, Maroon 5, Paul McCartney, Shawn Mendes, the Pussycat Dolls, Rascal Flatts, Ed Sheeran, Gwen Stefani, Taylor Swift, Train, Carrie Underwood, Westlife, Stevie Wonder, and more.

Resources and Related Links:

Monday, April 2, 2007

In Concert: Eric Clapton (40th Birthday Present)

image from

Venue: Kemper Arena; Kansas City, MO
The Players: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar), Doyle Bramhall II (guitar), Willie Weeks (bass), Steve Jordan (drums), Chris Stainton (keyboards), Tim Carmon (keyboards), Michelle John (backing vocals), Sharon White (backing vocals)

This concert was a gift to me for my 40th birthday. My then-wife surprised me (and 7 others) with tickets to Eric Clapton – and the T-shirts which proclaim “We’re with that 40 Year Old Guy.”

The Set List:

1. Tell the Truth
2. Key to the Highway
3. Got to Get Better in a Little While
4. Little Wing
5. Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?


6. Driftin’
7. I’ll Give You Money (Outside Woman Blues)?
8. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
9. Running on Faith
10. Motherless Children
11. Little Queen of Spades
12. Further on Up the Road
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Layla


15. Cocaine
16. Crossroads (with Robert Cray)