Tuesday, February 1, 1983

Journey’s Frontiers released



Released: February 1, 1983

Peak: 2 US, 6 UK, 10 CN, -- AU

Sales (in millions): 6.0 US, -- UK, 8.0 world (includes US and UK)

Genre: classic rock


Song Title (date of single release, chart peaks) Click for codes to singles charts.

  1. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart) (2/5/83, 8 US, 1 AR, 11 CN, 93 AU)
  2. Send Her My Love (9/24/83, 23 US, 27 AC)
  3. Chain Reaction
  4. After the Fall (2/26/83, 23 US, 30 AR)
  5. Faithfully (4/16/83, 12 US, 24 AC, 36 CN)
  6. Edge of the Blade
  7. Troubled Child
  8. Back Talk
  9. Frontiers
  10. Rubicon

Total Running Time: 44:09

The Players:

  • Steve Perry (vocals)
  • Neal Schon (guitar, backing vocals)
  • Jonathan Cain (keyboards, rhythm guitar, backing vocals)
  • Ross Valory (bass, backing vocals)
  • Steve Smith (drums)


3.522 out of 5.00 (average of 14 ratings)

Awards: (Click on award to learn more).

About the Album:

Journey followed their most successful effort, 1981’s chart-topping, multi-platinum Escape with what was largely an attempt “to use the same musical recipe.” AMG Like Escape, 1983’s Frontiers was able to boast four top 40 hits “and a rock radio hit in Chain Reaction. All of the first five tracks (the album’s first side) had videos created for them.” JM

Despite another slew of hits, “Frontiers comes up a little short, mainly because the keyboards seem to overtake both Schon’s guitar playing and Steve Perry’s strong singing.” AMG Overall “Jonathan Cain had more input on this album; not only did he once again help co-write all the tracks, he was the main pen behind Faithfully.” JM However an “overabundance of…[his] synth work cloaks the quicker tunes and seeps into the ballads, slightly widening the strong partnership of Perry and Schon.” AMG

Separate Ways grabs attention right off the bat with stinging synthesizer and a catchy guitar riff” AMG that makes it “one of the heaviest and most emotive tracks the band have ever recorded.” CRM “Journey never rocked harder than on Frontiers, with Neal Schon really ripping on Edge of the Blade and Rubicon.” CRM

Send Her My Love emphasizes Perry's keen ability to pour his heart out.” AMG “‘Faithfully’ tried to match the powerful beauty of ‘Open Arms,’ and while it’s a gorgeous ballad, it just comes inches away from conjuring up the same soft magic.” AMG

“The rest of the songs on the album lack the warmth that Journey is famous for, especially in their mix of fervor and intimacy shown on this album’s predecessor.” AMG “The album would have been even better” CRM “had it not been for the last minute decision by Michael Dilbeck, the band’s longtime A & R man, to switch two tracks; he put Back Talk,” JM “a real stinker,” CRM “and Troubled Child in, and took out ‘Ask the Lonely’ and ‘Only the Young.’” JM The latter two were “two brilliant tracks” CRM that were both later released on soundtracks and became top 10 album rock hits; “Only the Young” was a top 10 pop hit as well.

Notes: “Only the Young” and “Ask the Lonely” appeared as bonus tracks on the 2006 reissue. Also included were the songs “Liberty,” which had been released on the Time3 box set) and “Only Solutions,” which appeared in the 1982 movie Tron.

Resources and Related Links:

Other Related DMDB Pages:

First posted 10/12/2008; last updated 2/22/2022.

No comments:

Post a Comment