Thursday, May 6, 2021

ASCAP Awards

ASCAP Awards:


The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) gives out two lifetime achievement-type awards on an annual basis. Based on the descriptions below, there doesn’t appear to be a real distinction between the awards and, in fact, there are a handful of artists who’ve received both awards.

The Founders Award is, according to their website, their “most prestigious honor and is given to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.” It was first given in 1984.

They also present a Golden Note Award to, as the website says “songwriters, composers, and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.” It was first given in 1982.

Recipients of either the Founders Award (FA) or Golden Notes Award (GN) are noted below along with the year they received the award. Click on the name of the music maker to see entry in the DMDB Encyclopedia.

See other lifetime achievement awards.









Resources/Related Links:

First posted 6/9/2016; last updated 5/6/2021.

No comments:

Post a Comment