Wednesday, February 2, 2005

Bloc Party Silent Alarm released

Silent Alarm

Bloc Party

Released: February 2, 2005

Peak: 114 US, 3 UK, 30 AU

Sales (in millions): 0.3 US, 0.53 UK, 1.0 world (includes US and UK)

Genre: indie rock/post-punk revival


Song Title (Writers) [time] (date of single release, chart peaks) Click for codes to singles charts.

  1. Like Eating Glass [4:22]
  2. Helicopter [3:40] (11/27/04, 26 UK)
  3. Positive Tension [3:55]
  4. Banquet [3:21] (5/3/04, 34 MR, 13 UK)
  5. Blue Light [2:47]
  6. She’s Hearing Voices [3:29]
  7. This Modern Love [4:25]
  8. Pioneers [3:55] (7/18/05, 18 UK)
  9. Price of Gas [4:19]
  10. Little Thoughts [3:30] * (7/12/04, 38 UK)
  11. So Here We Are [3:52] (1/31/05, 5 UK)
  12. Luno [3:57]
  13. Plans [4:10]
  14. Compliments [4:43]
* Not on original release. All songs written by Bloc Party.

Total Running Time: ??

The Players:

  • Kele Okereke (vocals, rhythm guitar, etc.)
  • Russell Lissack (guitar, snythesizer, etc.)
  • Gordon Moakes (bass, etc.)
  • Matt Tong (drums, percussion, backing vocals)


3.909 out of 5.00 (average of 26 ratings)

Awards: (Click on award to learn more).

About the Album:

Bloc Party is a post-punk revival indie-rock band which was formed in 1999 at the Reading Festival in England by singer Kele Okereke and guitarist Russell Lissack. In 2004, they released a pair of EPs, Bloc Party in May, and Little Thoughts in December. They included the songs Banquet, She’s Hearing Voices, Helicopter, and Little Thoughts, all of which would also appear on the Bloc Party’s debut album, Silent Alarm, in 2005.

So Here We Are was released as the first single from the album and reached #5 on the UK charts. It was followed by the release of “Banquet” as a single of its own following its initial appearance on the Bloc Party EP. Pioneers was another top-20 hit followed by Two More Years. The latter reached #7 and was included on the UK re-release of Silent Alarm.

Bloc Party composed the songs for the album with a focus on rhythm based on the drum and bass parts. Their priority was “to give the music more depth, sonically speaking.” WK The group focused on merging different styles such as R&B, electro, and pop. WK The album was widely praised for “its fast tempo and passionate delivery.” WK

Meanwhile, Kele Okereke wrote lyrics which “examined the feelings and hopes of young adults, including views on global politics.” WK He also said he wanted to “emphasize the importance of finding pleasure in small mundane things because ‘those are the sort of things that can be incredibly touching.’” WK While there wasn’t a solitary lyrical focus, the album “tries to make clear an existential pointlessness in life.” WK

Notes: The UK re-release added “Litlte Thoughts” and “Two More Years” as bonus tracks. A Japanese edition added remixes of “So Here We Are,” “Plans,” and “Pioneers” as bonus tracks.

Resources and Related Links:

First posted 3/13/2022.

No comments:

Post a Comment