Tuesday, April 2, 2002

Aha released Lifelines



Released: April 2, 2002

Peak: -- US, 67 UK, -- CN, -- AU

Sales (in millions): -- US, -- UK, -- world (includes US and UK)

Genre: synth pop


Song Title (date of single release, chart peaks) Click for codes to singles charts.

  1. Lifelines (7/8/02, 78 UK)
  2. You Wanted More
  3. Forever Not Yours (4/2/02, --)
  4. There’s a Reason for It
  5. Time & Again
  6. Did Anyone Approach You? (9/30/02, --)
  7. Afternoon High
  8. Oranges on Appletrees
  9. A Little Bit
  10. Less Than Pure
  11. Turn the Lights Down
  12. Cannot Hide
  13. White Canvas
  14. Dragonfly
  15. Solace

Total Running Time: 61:34

The Players:

  • Morten Harket (vocals, guitar)
  • Magne Furuholmen (keyboards, guitar, bass)
  • Pål Waaktaar-Savoy (guitars, drums, percussion)


3.333 out of 5.00 (average of 3 ratings)

Quotable: “Their most varied, versatile and multicolored album.” – Amazon

Awards: (Click on award to learn more).

About the Album:

Synth-pop trio A-ha first emerged with the international hit “Take on Me” in 1985. They released five studio albums over the next decade before taking a seven-year hiatus. “Time had moved on, things had grown: Magne Furuholmen was working with visual arts as well as music, Pål Waaktaar-Savoy’s Band Savoy had released their fourth album Reasons to Stay Indoors (2001), and Morten Harket had developed a successful solo career and had become a songwriter on his own.” AZ

A-ha wasn’t done yet, though. They returned with Minor Earth, Major Sky in 2000 and followed up with Lifelines two years later. It was “a difference from their last effort yet undeniably a-ha.” AMG The album “proved they were back and brilliant as ever, if not even better.” AZ

“For Lifelines each band member contributed his personal compositions to the album, which finally was produced by six different producers including Stephen Hague, Clive Langer, Alan Winstanley and Martin Landquist. Anneli Drecker gave her beautiful voice to some of the songs. As their most varied, versatile and multicolored album, Lifelines gained international critical respect and went number 1 in Germany.” AZ

“The album begins with a lush ballad -- which is typical a-ha, pastoral with support orchestration – almost like a modern day Moody Blues. You Wanted More also follows this trait, only darker with spiky electronics.” AMG

Afternoon High sketches out ‘70s pastel glory similar to what Tears for Fears were getting at with parts of the Seeds of Love album.” AMG

There are shades of Minor Earth Major Sky in that they keep the sugary neigh pleasant ballads vein to full emotional effect on Turn the Lights Down, Time and AgainCannot Hide opts for a Jennifer Paige ‘Crush’ vibe with George Harrison-style guitar.” AMG

Forever Not Yours served as the lead single from the album and became the band’s eighth chart-topper in Norway. The song’s “pleasant dramatism echoes Darren Hayes’ recent ‘Insatiable.’” AMG

Notes: A deluxe edition included alternate mixes of “Did Anyone Approach You” and “Time & Again.” A 2019 deluxe edition added a second disc of demos.

Resources and Related Links:

Other Related DMDB Pages:

First posted 9/9/2020; updated 8/9/2021.

No comments:

Post a Comment