Monday, October 28, 1991

Fish released Internal Exile

Internal Exile


Released: October 28, 1991

Peak: -- US, 21 UK

Sales (in millions): --

Genre: neo-progressive rock


Song Title (Writers) [time] (date of single release, chart peaks) Click for codes to singles charts.

  1. Shadowplay (Dick, Mickey Simmonds) [6:23]
  2. Credo (Dick, Simmonds, Robin Boult, Frank Usher) [6:40] (12/2/91, 38 UK)
  3. Just Good Friends (Close) (Dick, Usher, Boult, Simmonds) [6:00] (8/15/95, 63)
  4. Favourite Stranger (Dick, Usher) [6:58]
  5. Lucky (Dick, Boult, Simmonds) [4:50]
  6. Dear Friend (Dick, Boult, Simmonds) [4:08]
  7. Tongues (Dick, Simmonds, Usher, Boult) [6:22]
  8. Internal Exile (Dick, Boult, Simmonds) [4:45] (9/9/91, 37 UK)
  9. Something in the Air (Speedy Keen) [5:08] (6/22/92, 51)

The Players:

  • Derek W. Dick, aka “Fish” (vocals)
  • Mickey Simmonds (keyboards)
  • Robin Boult, Frank Usher (guitars)
  • David Paton (bass)
  • Ethan Johns, Ted McKenna (drums, percussion)
  • David Paton, Mr. Crimson, Robin Boult, Maryen Cairns (backing vocals)
  • Charlie McKerron (fiddle on “Internal Exile”)
  • Marc Duff (whistles)
  • Donald Shaw (box accordion)


3.511 out of 5.00 (average of 20 ratings)

Awards: (Click on award to learn more).

About the Album:

“It’s a comparison that has dogged Fish throughout his professional career, but it’s hard to listen to his music – either his work with Marillion or his solo albums – and not be reminded of prime-period Genesis, when Peter Gabriel was fronting the band. It’s not only because his voice uncannily recalls Gabriel’s and that the musical approach is heavily influenced by Selling England by the Pound and The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, but it's also because Gabriel has stopped recording the kind of fruity, pompous prog-rock that dominates Fish’s second full-fledged solo album, Internal Exile. That might sound like a harsh criticism, but it’s meant as a compliment, simply because in 1991 – or for that matter, the ‘90s – nobody does classic British prog as well as Fish. True, Internal Exile relies a bit too much on contemporary studio techniques, resulting in a clean, almost sterile sound, but it’s appropriate for such precise, mannered music. At times, it’s a little too mannered, but much of the album delivers exactly what Fish and Marillion fans need – and what old-school Genesis fans have been waiting to hear.” STE

Internal Exile “was inspired by the singer's past, his own personal problems and his troubled experiences with his previous record label EMI.” WK “The album’s music reflects Fish’s indulgence in the vast regions of music that he wanted to explore as a solo artist; most notably Celtic music and folk styles. This ultimately led to the music not having a strong direction that was so apparent on his previous album, Vigil in a Wilderness of Mirrors. Despite this, the album remains strong with the cracking opener Shadow Play followed by the rocking track Credo,” WK which deals with “with social problems and globalisation, echoing ‘State of Mind,’ his first solo single.” WK “The song Internal Exile speaks of his strong national pride and his desire for independence for Scotland.” WK

“The album was produced by Chris Kimsey, and dedicated to Fish's daughter Tara.” WK

Notes: A 1998 remastered edition added bonus tracks “Poet’s Moon” and “Carnival Man” plus another version of “Something in the Air.”

Resources and Related Links:

Last updated 6/12/2021.

No comments:

Post a Comment