Monday, September 28, 2015

In Concert: Mark Knopfler

image from

Venue: Midland Theater; Kansas City, MO
The Players: Mark Knopfler (vocals, guitar), Guy Fletcher (keyboards), Richard Bennett (guitar), Glenn Worf (bass), Jim Cox (piano, organ, accordion), Ian Thomas (drums), John McCusker (violin, Cittern), Michael McGoldrick (whistles, uilleann pipes), Nigel Hitchcock (saxophone)
Opening Act: none

The Set List:

1. Broken Bones 25
2. Corned Beef City 24
3. Privateering 24
4. Father and Son 6
5. Hill Farmer’s Blues 19
6. Skydiver 25
7. She’s Gone 16
8. Your Latest Trick 8
9. Romeo and Juliet 3
10. Sultans of Swing 1
11. Haul Away 24
12. Postcards from Paraguay 20
13. Marbletown 19
14. Speedway at Nazareth 17
15. Telegraph Road 4


16. So Far Away 8
17. Going Home (Theme from Local Hero) 5

Album Discography:

1 Dire Straits (with Dire Straits, 1978)
2 Communiqué (with Dire Straits, 1979)
3 Making Movies (with Dire Straits, 1980)
4 Love Over Gold (with Dire Straits, 1982)
5 Local Hero (soundtrack, 1983)
6 Cal (soundtrack, 1984)
7 Comfort and Joy (soundtrack,1984 )
8 Brothers in Arms (with Dire Straits, 1985)
9 The Princess Bride (soundtrack, 1987)
10 Last Exit to Brooklyn (soundtrack, 1989)
11 Missing…Presumed Having a Good Time (with the Notting Hillbillies, 1990)
12 Neck and Neck (with Chet Atkins, 1990)
13 On Every Street (with Dire Straits, 1991)
14 Golden Heart (1996)
15 Wag the Dog (soundtrack, 1998)
16 Metroland (soundtrack, 1999)
17 Sailing to Philadelphia (2000)
18 A Shot at Glory (soundtrack, 2002)
19 The Ragpicker’s Dream (2002)
20 Shangri-La (2004)
21 All the Roadrunning (with Emmylou Harris, 2006)
22 Kill to Get Crimson (2007)
23 Get Lucky (2009)
24 Privateering (2012)
25 Tracker (2015)

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Sept. 22-23, 1965: Junior Wells recorded his Hoodoo Man Blues album

First posted November 13, 2008. Last updated September 10, 2018.

Hoodoo Man Blues

Junior Wells

Recorded: September 22-23, 1965

Released: November 1965

Sales (in millions):
US: --
UK: --
IFPI: --
World (estimated): --

US: --
UK: --
Canada: --
Australia: --

Quotable: “One of the truly classic blues albums of the 1960s” – Bill Dahl, All Music Guide

Genre: blues

Album Tracks:

  1. Snatch It Back and Hold It
  2. Ships on the Ocean
  3. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  4. Hound Dog
  5. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
  6. Hey Lawdy Mama
  7. Hoodoo Man Blues
  8. Early in the Morning
  9. We’re Ready
  10. You Don’t Love Me Baby
  11. Chitlin Con Carne
  12. Yonders Wall

Singles/Hit Songs:

Click here for the chart codes for singles/hit songs.


Junior Wells debut album, Hoodoo Man Blues, is “one of the truly classic blues albums of the 1960s, and one of the first to fully document the smoky ambience of a night at a West side nightspot in the superior acoustics of a recording studio.” BD

Bob Koester, the founder of Delmark Records, “liked Wells’ music enough to give the musician considerable freedom on the album in spite of concerns of commercial response.” WK “Wells was given the liberty to select his own…track list, without the usual limitation of songs two or three minutes long.” WK The result was Delmark’s best-selling album. WK

Wells was also allowed to select his own sidemen. WK The blues singer and harmonica player tapped “his usual cohorts,” BD including Jack Myers on bass and Billy Warren on drums. BD Guitarist Buddy Guy also appears, although he was originally billed only as “Friendly Chap” due to Koester’s incorrect assumption that Guy was contractually tied to Chess Records. WK

In 1993, Wells told the Chicago Tribune that the title cut nearly didn’t make the album. He’d recorded it as a single, but when presented to radio “for possible rotation they had rejected it violently, throwing it on the floor and stomping on it.” WK

The album established the blues singer and harmonica player’s career and is acclaimed “as being among the best albums Wells ever produced and even among the greatest blues albums ever made.” WK

Review Source(s):


Related DMDB Link(s):